ASL for busy teachers

Wow, these past few weeks have flown by! As I state in the video reflection below, I feel like I took on too much trying to learn ASL in a few short weeks. I started on YouTube searching for basic american sign language and found a ton of videos, however the motions seemed very fast and I was having trouble remembering the motions and the faces to make to convey the message correctly….watch for more details on what I learned!

What I learned does not look like very much, but I still very much believe in using a network to teach yourself something. As shown in my first post about this project, I have used the internet to teach myself many things and loved that I could go at my own pace and rewind if something wasn’t clear for me. I’ve also used forums to ask a question from others who are experts in the topic when I’m just not understanding, and I feel that is so huge! I really don’t feel like I chose the right topic for this particular project though. I learned some really great stuff through this, I just don’t think it translated very well through my posts and videos. Oh well, lesson learned!

While I don’t believe I will be sending my kinders off to do YouTube research (yikes!), someday I hope to teach an older grade and I think this would be such a fun project! I would absolutely show them my sewing projects, and furniture that I’ve built using YouTube tutorials so they can see that they can do anything they set their mind to!

Author: jessiesworld997180105

I am a 32 year old, married, mother of 2, and a kindergarten teacher. Welcome to my world!

One thought on “ASL for busy teachers”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started